Six graduate students at universities in Florida have received Guy Harvey Scholarship Awards, recognizing their outstanding achievement in marine fisheries science research. The following winners received $5,000 scholarships:

Nicholas Ducharme-Barth - University of Florida

Meaghan Faletti - University of South Florida

Elizabeth Herdter - University of South Florida

Bryan Keller - Florida State University

Brian Moe - Florida State University

Cheston Peterson - Florida State University

The scholarship, established in 2010 through a partnership between Florida Sea Grant and the Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation, recognizes students at Florida universities whose research focuses on the biology, ecology, habitat or management of fisheries in Florida’s marine environment. Since the award was established, $194,000 in scholarships has now been awarded to 41 students at nine different Florida universities.

Recipients also receive a certificate designed and signed by well-known marine wildlife artist and conservationist Guy Harvey. Thus far, awards have been given to students at the University of Florida, Florida State University, University of Central Florida, University of South Florida, University of Miami, University of North Florida, Florida Atlantic University, Florida International University and the Florida Institute of Technology.

Click here for more information

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.